The Guilty One

Let me hear that something happened that shouldn’t have happened and immediately I wonder how I caused it. This is the way I’m wired. I am sure there is some psychological explanation for such insanity, but I don’t go there. Instead, I go here where all of life’s problems for me are solved:


I am the Guilty One
Whatever went wrong

I was there
Somehow
Making things go wrong
I am the guilty one
The one to blame
To blame for what
It doesn’t matter
I know I did it
I am the guilty one
Blundering
The one that tipped
The world upside down
I am the guilty one

The hand of God
Reached down for me
He lifted me above
The chaos that I caused
He pardoned me
The guilty one
He made me clean
Jesus did
He shed his blood
For me
I am His

By Carol Ann Hoel © October 12, 2010

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Guilty One

  1. Bonnie ~ Life of Bon says:

    This is just beautiful Carol Ann. I so enjoy your poetry, you have a rare talent.

    Like

  2. heartspell says:

    You are not alone… we are all guilty of wrong sometimes…. but then there is learning and forgiveness…:) heartspell

    Like

  3. Trisha says:

    this is simply adorable carol. the meekest lamb is sheltered by Jesus with utmost tenderness.

    Like

  4. I love this poem! I’ve often felt that way, as if I was somehow responsible for every tragedy that touched my life–or the lives of people I know. One day my sister pointed out that I’m not powerful enough to be the cause behind every problem. That really made me consider what I have control over and what I don’t, and relieved me of much of the guilt I’d been carrying around.

    Like

    • Yes, I don’t know why I always think everything’s my fault. Ha!. But today I changed around my furniture and when I finished, my phone wouldn’t work. I just knew I had done something to cause it. Well, I did. I unplugged a computer wire, and I thought I plugged it back into the same hole, but I didn’t. A tech had to come out to the house and find this out. I never would have figured it out myself. It is true that we are not always at fault, but even when we are, there is forgiveness. Blessings to you, Carol, and thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  5. buttercup600 says:

    I agree with what Heartspell said, always learning and forgiving. Thanks for sharing my friend and blessings to you oxoxox

    Like

  6. marchmommie7 says:

    That is beautiful. You captured the beauty of salvation in the poem. I’m amazed sometimes at the grace and mercy of God on a sinner like me!
    Pray for you and your family!

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, marchmommie7. And thank you for your comment. Thank you for praying for me and my family. I will pray for you and your family, too, and with you in the prayers on your posts. I appreciate the opportunity to participate in your blog ministry to persecuted Christians all over the globe. Blessings to you…

      Like

  7. Chloe says:

    Hi Carol – wow, I am so like you in that way…I often feel responsible – even for things I know I did not do. Whilst I know that we can turn to the Lord to ease our troubled souls, I know that He will NOT forgive us for something we have NOT done – however, perhaps we can find strenght in him to believe in ourselves more fully and not doubt ourselves so much! And on those occasions where we are guily (which are probably many), we are allowed to forgive ourselves for it too…thanks for sharing my friend xx

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

