Slim Shady Claims Table Top

Slim Shady, boy cat, relaxes on HIS coffee table. My brother bought it for me, but Shady claimed it. Jeffery doesn’t mind. He loves Shady, too. Who wouldn’t love this cat? I tried putting my ornate elephant ceramic on the table top (below right). Notice how the colors match the oversize pillow on he couch. Perfectly! But not to be. No. Shady claimed the coffee table for his own. I struggled with him for a few weeks and then knew  that my beautiful ceramic elephant might end up on the floor in pieces.

Shady won! It’s all his table top for his comfort. Sunshine dances on him all afternoon with massive windows spanning the wall in front of the table.

Another Slim Shady post for the cat lovers of the world. Cats rule; dogs drool. Was that a line from the movie  “Homebound”?

I’m a dog lover, too. Even cats are dog lovers. When we had both cats and dogs, they got along better than siblings. They loved one another, but it was true: Cats ruled. At least in our home they did. Perhaps this was true because of the sweet personalities of the dogs we owned.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Cats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Slim Shady Claims Table Top

  1. Paula says:

    Reminder to self: when there’s time, respond to this post with some wonderful corresponding stories of my own about our dogs and cats, both past and present! Thanks for the laugh, Carol – this post brings up a ton of stories here at “chez Calhoun!”

    Like

  2. Chloe says:

    Slim Shady looks adorable!! Isn’t it amazing how our pets claim certain areas as theirs…including our hearts?

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend and that the sun shines on you – and Slim Shady on his table top 😀 xx

    Like

  3. buttercup600 says:

    Awesome, such a bundle of love, how could we not let them have the last say in the end. My Coco rules in so many ways too . Thanks so much for sharing my friend and hope your weekend is a good one…:) 🙂 Love to you both xxxx

    Like

    • I see the photo of your darling Coco on when emails come notifying me of my subscription to your blog. What a sweet puppy! Thank you for your visit and comment. Blessings to you, my friend… and love xxoo

      Like

  4. lbdiamond says:

    LOL–cute kitty! They certainly rule their domain, don’t they?

    Like

    • Oh yes, they do rule. Shady thinks he allows us to live here, too. When we eat, he runs to the fridge with his “what about me?” attitude. So sweet. Of course, I make up his dish so he may eat also. Then he comes to the table wanting to see if we have something better to share. I need only give him a tiny taste and he is satisfied that he wasn’t overlooked. Thank you for stopping by. Blessings to you…

      Like

  5. Jingle says:

    love the coffee table, the cat is super cute.

    Like

  6. Trisha says:

    dear sweet carol,
    thanks for easing my heart. i used to think that i am too soft for my kittens. they have made me vacate a shelf and a small table. even though they dont use them but the keep them empty all the same. 🙂
    i am waiting for your next story.
    lots of love.

    Like

    • Good morning, Trisha! It’s probably not morning where you are. The Internet swishes away the miles so that we may be friends! I know just what you mean about your dear kittens. Shady not only wants to lie there at his convenience, he wants it cleaned off and waiting for him. If I set something on the table, he jumps up there and puts his paw on it. Then he will lie down, stretch his body across the entire table, and “accidentally” push it off with his hind leg. I know it was no accident. 🙂 We keep it clean for Shady. I am working on another story. Thank you for visiting. Blessings to you…

      Like

  7. Bonnie says:

    Shady is a beautiful boy!! It’s so funny the places and things they tend to claim as their own. I love your ornate elephant, by the way!

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting, Bonnie. The elephant was a gift I received many years ago. It coincidentally has the same colors that are in the pillow. The elephant is still in the living room but not where Shady may “accidentally” push it onto the floor with his paw. Blessings to you…

      Like

  8. planejaner says:

    Carol Ann–
    Our kids still use that line from “Homeward Bound”–“Cats rule and Dogs drool”–although, sometimes they put their own names in the correct spot and use it as a more personal insult.
    cats…I do love them so.
    blessings
    jane

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting my place. I almost got it right. Not Homebound but “Homeward Bound”. Yes. I loved that movie. I’m a kid at heart and don’t care. They have more fun than adults do anyway. Thank you, Jane.

      Like

  9. Jewel says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

    Like

    • Oh, you are so sweet. I needed some encouragement with regard to my blog. I’m pretty much a techno-idiot, but I managed to set up this blog using the WordPress theme. I finally figured out how to change the header to a photo of my own. Other than that, this is a standard WordPress theme. Blessings to you, Jewel…

      Like

  10. After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I recieve
    4 emails with the same comment. Perhaps there is a means you
    can remove me from that service? Kudos!

    Like

    • I’m sure there is a way to remove it, probably in the “Comments” section. If you selected to receive comments, I believe that would be comments on the post that you were on when you posted it. You will only receive comments on that particular post. I wish I could help you more. Blessings to you…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

