Iced Tea Pitcher

I’m shopping for a pitcher but not just any pitcher. I want one like this one, my beautiful Pink Depression pitcher with a curled lip that keeps ice cubes inside. My husband drinks his cold tea without ice while I like mine full of ice. This pitcher is not dishwasher safe and cannot be used for the purpose described below. The pitcher I need must be dishwasher safe, although I won’t put it in the dishwasher. I haven’t been able to find a pitcher with both features. I found one at Target that was dishwasher safe but there was no guard to hold back the ice cubes. I found another one, also at Target, that had the curled lip but it wasn’t dishwasher safe. In fact, it had a sticker that said it was not suitable for hot liquid.

I went online browsing for an iced tea pitcher and found that there were many kinds from plastic ones to pitchers designed to brew the tea! All I want is a cheap pitcher with those two characteristics. I don’t like iced tea brewed ahead, cooled, and stored in the fridge. I want my tea freshly brewed and poured over ice. Iced tea served immediately has a wonderful flavor that is different from iced tea that has been cooled and stored. This is my preference.

Here is how I prepare my iced tea (for 2 tall glasses of iced tea):
1) Put about 4-5 ounces of water in cup (not too much water)
2) Heat the cup of water in the microwave to boiling
3) Add 4 tea bags (2 bags for 1 tall glass) (make strong tea)
4) Brew 3-5 minutes

A tall glass should be waiting empty. Do not add ice to the glass until the last moment. Adding the ice to the glass before the hot tea is ready to pour may result in a broken glass. I don’t know if it would break if the glass were chilled ahead; I think it might, so I don’t do it. The ice and hot water going into the glass almost simultaneously should eliminate the danger of breaking the glass. If the glass has been chilled ahead of time I think the glass might break, which is the reason I wait to fill the glass with ice until ready to pour the hot tea into it. I’ve done this hundreds of times and lost one glass over many years. One. Obviously a deficiency in the glass, don’t you think? It is good to do this in the sink just in case a glass would break. Make iced tea this way at your own risk. There is one sure way to prevent breaking glass and that is to wait for the strong tea in the cup to cool. I have never waited for the tea to cool. Tsk. One broken glass over many years. Only one. Not a bad record. I was horrified when it broke, I want you to know. EEK!

5) Fill a tall glass with ice to the brim
6) Immediately pour the hot tea over the ice. Stop pouring if the glass is full. 🙂
7) Allow some of the ice to melt, which takes only moments, before enjoying the tea
8) Drink sparkling iced tea!

Personally I am a sipper. My hubby is a gulper. He sees; he drinks; he hands me the glass. I spend an hour sipping my iced tea.

I need a pitcher to make enough tea for my husband to have a few glasses and to keep the ice from his falling into his glass. I spill part of his tea trying to remove the ice cubes from his glass. I want to put the ice into the pitcher and pour the hot tea over the ice. I know better than to trust my Pink Depression pitcher that is most assuredly not dishwasher safe. I want a cheap pitcher just in case this method breaks the pitcher. I hope not!

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Thought and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Iced Tea Pitcher

  1. buttercup600 says:

    Iced tea is not big here in Australia like it is where you are, I have however heard of sweet iced tea and don’t know if I would like that, your recipe sounds absolutely lovely and I will give it a try, with days getting warmer now, I can’t think of anything better to drink!! Good for you for only breaking one glass, I am terrible when it comes to that!! Don’t know where you will find a pitcher…maybe someone will come up with a solution!! I enjoy this postings of yours very much my friend xxx Have a terrific day (or sweet dreams) xxxxx

    Like

    • Yes, I was fortunate not to break more of them. Iced tea is a favorite in this country. Mostly sweet iced tea. I like it without sugar. Most restaurants serve it both ways. I do hope I will find a pitcher. Until then I will use my old time ice-in-glass method. It works. Thank you for stopping by and for your kind comment, Amanda. Blessings to you…

      Like

  2. Laura Best says:

    This post made me thirsty! We’re having a warm evening here and a glass of iced tea would go down good about now. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Laura. I always think of “Bitter, Sweet” when I see you. The trailer was great! Iced tea quenches the thirst like no other drink. Thank you for your comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  3. Trisha says:

    I hope you get it soon 🙂 your dream pitcher.

    Like

    • Aw, you are so sweet, Trisha. If I don’t find it, I’ll keep using the glass of ice. I’ll get better at getting the ice out of my husband’s tea. And I’ll probably never break another glass. Thank you for stopping by and for your kind comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  4. Chloe says:

    What a delightful post…I love your advice “Stop pouring if the glass is full” – that made me laugh out loud 😀 xx

    Like

    • Life is better when we laugh. I did that one time. I dumped the tea without paying attention and it ran over the top. The glass was sitting in the sink, so it wasn’t a catastrophe, but I felt like a fool. Ha! But I wrote it to get a laugh. Thank you for visiting and commenting, Chloe. I appreciate your kindness.

      Like

  5. Jingle says:

    pleasant!

    Happy Day!

    Like

  6. Bonnie says:

    I absolutely ADORE your Pink Depression pitcher! It just spews elegance. Isn’t it funny how if you’re not looking for something as simple as a specific ice tea pitcher, they seem to be everywhere. When you go to search for and purchase one, no where to be found. Seems that might fall into the Murphy’s Law category. I also love good iced tea. Although, living in the south, I’m aware of the fact that we usually add way too much sugar to it. 🙂

    Like

    • I agree about the sugar issue in the south. I learned to drink Iced tea in Ohio and Michigan. Sweet tea wasn’t so prevalent back then. There was a time when you had to put sugar in your tea with a spoon if you wanted sweet tea. I guess that was really long ago. I have ordered a pitcher from Amazon. Now I won’t have to run around to look for one. Thank you for stopping in and reading my iced tea post.

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

