Herb Garden

My brother Jeffery’s herb garden is magnificent! He works hard to plant, water, and keep it flourishing. The reward of his labor comes with delicious fresh herbs flavoring all his gourmet cooking. My brother would have prepared a meatloaf to remember, perfect in appearance, aroma, and flavor. I am just your ordinary house woman cook. Even my simple meatloaf was delicious with Jeffery’s fresh herbs.

Every week or two I visit Jeffery and come home with bouquets of fresh herbs that not only decorate my table, add fragrance to the air, but they embellish my cooking with aromatic, flavorful, and nutritious goodness.

Some of the herbs he grows are basil, Thai basil, sage, lavender, marjoram, oregano, tarragon, rosemary, and many others. I am blessed to live in Texas where my brother Jeffery and his partner Neil live. When Johannes and I moved here from Orlando, Florida, Jeffery and Neil were kind enough to allow us to stay with them until we found a place of our own.

It is obvious from all these pots of beautiful greenery that Jeffery cooks with lots of green, flavorful, healthful, and nutritious herbs. We benefit also from all his work by having fresh herbs on our table and flavoring our foods.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Thought and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Herb Garden

  1. Paula says:

    Hats off to your brother! It’s a gift that requires a type of patience that I do not have, and refuse to pray for! The reason is: when you ask God for patience, God will put you into situations where you must exercise it! 😀 I will direct you to a sample of my gardening skill assessments: http://reflectionsfromacloudymirror.blogspot.com/2010/08/and-now-for-todays-ode.html

    So, I just buy my fresh herbs at the farmer’s market! Maybe more expensive, but it’s also more humane!

    Like

    • Welcome Paula! Thank you for visiting and for your comment. I read your very humorous poem. I loved it. Ha! I left you a comment. I do appreciate and benefit from my brother’s arduous labor. He spends many hours out there in his backyard pampering those plants.

      Like

  2. buttercup600 says:

    Kudo’s to your brother, I also grow basil, sage, oregano, rosemary and dill. Nothing compares to the flavour it gives to food!! Our warm weather sometimes can be harsh and I grow them in pots that can be moved around. As I read this, I could actually smell the freshness of these herbs!! Awesome Carol, thanks for sharing with us. Hugs xxx

    Like

    • Carol Ann Hoel says:

      Greetings to you, Amanda. You are a gourmet cook like my brother Jeffery. It is always a pleasure to eat what he cooks. I see the fancy fare that you cook on your blog. Yummy! Fresh herbs make food taste so much better and they add nutrition. The fragrance of herbs that you mention is another great benefit. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  3. Chloe says:

    Wow – wish I had a brother like that 😀 These herbs look amazing and definately look well loved xx

    Like

    • My brother does a remarkable job of caring for them. They are healthy, watered well, and pampered. I am very fortunate to have my brother. He’s great. Thank you for your visit and your comment. Blessings to you, Chloe…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

