Farmer’s Rice

My paternal grandmother served this delicious dessert frequently. Most foods my grandmother served were old Pennsylvania Dutch recipes she’d learned from her mother, my great grandmother. Grandma had eight grandchildren and we all loved her Farmer’s Rice.

Ingredients:
Cooked white or brown rice (package directions)
Whole Milk – 4-1/2 to 5 cups in a sauce pan
Sugar – about 1/3 cup or to taste
Egg Yolks – 3 or 4
Corn Starch or Tapioca Starch or Flour – 3-4 Tbsp
Salt – a pinch
Vanilla – 1 teaspoon (I use imitation vanilla 2 tsp)
Butter – 2 – 3 Tablespoons

1) Cook the rice (I usually have it leftover from a dinner that included rice) and set it aside.

TIP: Do not add the rice until the pudding is finished. My grandmother put the rice in first and hers always turned out perfect. I consistently ended up with too much rice in the pudding. I could have sliced it. Ha! I finally learned to put the rice in after the pudding is finished.

2) Pour the milk into a sauce pan (no heat yet).

3) Separate the egg yolks from the whites and add the yolks to the milk (A smart cook would probably put the yolks in a small bowl and whisk them a little first. I toss them in the milk and chase them around with the whisk. It works.)

4) Add the sugar and a pinch of salt.

5) Add the corn starch, tapioca starch, or flour and whisk until smooth.

6) Now turn on the heat to medium low. Higher heat may scorch the pudding. Stir until thickened, about 20 minutes. If you leave the stove, you may scorch the pudding. After it starts to thicken, keep cooking a little longer until it reaches the boiling point. DO NOT BOIL. Boiling will cause the milk to separate.

7 Add vanilla and butter and stir. Add rice, as much as you want. The pudding will thicken as it cools, so take care not to put in too much rice. Err on the shy side.

8) Cool and serve warm or cold.

Enjoy

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Farmer’s Rice

  1. buttercup600 says:

    This reminds me so much of what we called in South Africa “Melkkos”…I’d have a sleepover at my “Oma’s” place and she would make this for me!!! Thanks so much for sharing, I am going to try this and it brought back fond memories!!!! Happy weekend my dear friend XXXXX

    Like

  2. Is “Oma” a word that means grandmother? I miss my grandmother a lot. The farmer’s rice is a treat, but it is more than just a dessert because it makes me think of her. I’m glad it brought back memories for you, too. You enjoy your weekend as well.

    Like

  3. Lilian says:

    Yum! I think this is the same thing that we call ‘rice pudding’ here in the UK. My mum used to make it a lot. It’s nice with jam as well!

    Like

  4. amkuska says:

    I’m not sure I’m brave enough. O.O I’ve never heard of rice pudding before.

    Like

  5. This would be basic vanilla pudding with rice in it. I also make it with coconut. Yummy! I learned to love it as a child. Special memories are attached to farmer’s rice. I truly enjoy your blog. Thank you for visiting.

    Like

  6. This looks very good. I may just try making this sometime. I bet it would make a fabulous breakfast dish.

    Like

  7. I had a bowl of it for breakfast this morning along with a breakfast bar. Thank you for visiting. Have a great weekend.

    Like

  8. Jamie Dedes says:

    Oh, yum! I will have to try this. Thanks!

    Like

    • You’ll like it, Jamie. It’s delicious and easy to make, except for standing there stirring for 10 minutes or so. Ha! You can see that I’m an impatient person. Blessings to you…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

